DSC

Instagram launches donations tool

Written by Lauren Weymouth
30/07/19

Instagram has launched a new donation tool, enabling charities and donors to create a 24-hour fundraiser through the social media site.

Eligible charities will be able to create an Instagram story, add a donation ‘sticker’ and start raising money for a cause, all as part of a new initiative announced by Instagram earlier this year.

The one-click sticker is designed to encourage followers to click through to a charity or non-profit of their choice and donate to a good cause.

The announcement of the tool was made at the Facebook Community Summit at the company’s HQ earlier in the year. It followed an announcement made by Facebook – the owners of Instagram – in November last year, which said people had raised over $1bn for charities through Charitable Giving on Facebook.

“Last November, we announced that people raised over $1 billion for nonprofit organizations through Charitable Giving on Facebook," Facebook said in a statement.

“Instagram will bring the ability for people to support nonprofits that are important to them through a donation sticker in Instagram Stories.”

To mark the launch of the tool, celebrities have teamed up with charities to showcase how the tool can work. The partnerships include:

• Fearne Cotton (@fearnecotton) with CoppaFeel! (@coppafeelpeople)
• I Weigh (@i_weigh) and Munroe Bergdorf (@munroebergdorf) with Mermaids UK (@mermaidsgender)
• Tom Daley (@tomdaley) with The Brain Tumour Charity (@thebraintumorcharity)
• Chessie King (@chessiekingg) with The Cybersmile Foundation (@cybersmilefoundation)
• Jim Chapman (@jimchapman) with WWF UK (@wwf_uk)
• Zoe Sugg (@zoesugg) with Mind (@mindcharity)

The Instagram donation sticker builds on the technology that was created for Facebook’s donate features, including the ability to add a donate button to posts, Facebook Live videos and nonprofit pages.





Related Articles


  • Charity Times Awards Event Date: 2nd October 2019 Event Deadline: Park Plaza, Westminster Bridge, London For booking and enquiries email linda.libetta@charitytimes.com
  • Charity Times Pensions Roundtable Event Date: 10th October 2019 Event Deadline: Searcy's at the Gherkin 11am - 3pm For booking and enquiries email linda.libetta@charitytimes.com
  • Investors Forum – Climate Change Event Date: 22nd October 2019 Event Deadline: 1 Birdcage Walk Westminster, London SW1H 9JJ For booking and enquiries email linda.libetta@charitytimes.com
  • Charity Times Annual Conference Event Date: 6th May 2020 Event Deadline: The Waldorf Hilton, London
  • Property Roundtable Event Date: 2020 TBC Event Deadline: Searcy’s at the Gherkin For booking and enquiries email linda.libetta@charitytimes.com
  • Better Society Awards Event Date: 23rd May 2019 Event Deadline: 25th January 2019 London Marriott Hotel, Grosvenor Square, London
Most read stories...