Instagram launches donations tool

Instagram has launched a new donation tool, enabling charities and donors to create a 24-hour fundraiser through the social media site.

Eligible charities will be able to create an Instagram story, add a donation ‘sticker’ and start raising money for a cause, all as part of a new initiative announced by Instagram earlier this year.

The one-click sticker is designed to encourage followers to click through to a charity or non-profit of their choice and donate to a good cause.

The announcement of the tool was made at the Facebook Community Summit at the company’s HQ earlier in the year. It followed an announcement made by Facebook – the owners of Instagram – in November last year, which said people had raised over $1bn for charities through Charitable Giving on Facebook.

“Last November, we announced that people raised over $1 billion for nonprofit organizations through Charitable Giving on Facebook," Facebook said in a statement.

“Instagram will bring the ability for people to support nonprofits that are important to them through a donation sticker in Instagram Stories.”

To mark the launch of the tool, celebrities have teamed up with charities to showcase how the tool can work. The partnerships include:

• Fearne Cotton (@fearnecotton) with CoppaFeel! (@coppafeelpeople)
• I Weigh (@i_weigh) and Munroe Bergdorf (@munroebergdorf) with Mermaids UK (@mermaidsgender)
• Tom Daley (@tomdaley) with The Brain Tumour Charity (@thebraintumorcharity)
• Chessie King (@chessiekingg) with The Cybersmile Foundation (@cybersmilefoundation)
• Jim Chapman (@jimchapman) with WWF UK (@wwf_uk)
• Zoe Sugg (@zoesugg) with Mind (@mindcharity)

The Instagram donation sticker builds on the technology that was created for Facebook’s donate features, including the ability to add a donate button to posts, Facebook Live videos and nonprofit pages.



    Share Story:

Recent Stories


How to elevate your non-profit storytelling with data and performance metrics.
Sage Intacct the non-profit financial management platform, takes a look at giving trends and insights.

What has the pandemic taught us about the public’s perception of charities?
In this episode of the Charity Times Leadership podcast, we take a look at what the pandemic has taught us about the public’s perception of charities. Charity fundraising platform, Enthuse, recently released its quarterly donor research study, which highlighted significant shifts in donor behaviour throughout the duration of the pandemic. Not only does the report highlight an overarching sense of positivity towards the sector, but a propensity for younger generations to give more generously, too. Lauren Weymouth is joined by Enthuse CEO, Chester Mojay-Sinclare to discuss more.

The importance of the ‘S’ in ‘ESG’
In this episode, Lauren Weymouth is joined by Ketan Patel, equities fund manager at EdenTree, to delve into the issue of social investment and why that all-important ‘S’ in ESG is more relevant now than ever before. The social element of ESG often gets forgotten when thinking about investing in more ethical and sustainable ways. But, after a challenging year for all areas of society, social injustice has been highlighted, and there’s a much greater need for charities to put people at the heart of their investment decisions.