New Third Sector Task Force named 13/05/09

Environment Secretary Hilary Benn has announced the 16 members of the new Third Sector Task Force on climate change, the environment and sustainable development.

The aim for the task force is to develop a vision and action plan for wider third sector involvement in these issues and to identify how Government and the third sector can best work together and contribute their expertise, experience and the ability to reach people.

The action plan will help identify and recommend long lasting and relevant actions on environmental issues for organisations that work across the third sector all levels of communities.

Hilary Benn said: “I am confident that the task force will show how we can best work with third sector groups and learn from innovation, knowledge and networking. I am looking forward to seeing the action plan that will help us take the initiative on the environment with communities.”

The task force is made up of 16 individuals from across the third sector and will have both Ministerial and third sector chairs. Green Alliance and the National Council for Voluntary Organisations (NCVO) are acting as the secretariat.

The task force will meet regularly between now and October.

Two of the meetings will be jointly chaired by Huw Irranca-Davies MP, parliamentary under-secretary of state in the Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and Defra’s Third Sector Minister, along with Joan Ruddock MP – Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Climate Change and Energy and Kevin Brennan MP – Cabinet Office Minister for the Third Sector.

The remaining four meetings of the group will be chaired by a third sector representative. Iain Wright MP – Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Communities and Local Government will also attend the Ministerial task force meetings.

Minister for the Third Sector Kevin Brennan said: "Many charities, voluntary groups, social enterprises and cooperatives are already leading the way in tackling climate change and working in an environmentally sustainable manner.

"I look forward to working with the taskforce to strengthen the Government's work on environmental sustainability. I'm particularly pleased with the diversity of the members; not just coming from environmental backgrounds but a broad coalition of organisations from across the sector."

The 16 members of the Third Sector Task Force on climate change, the environment and sustainable development are :
Maria Adebowale, Capacity Global
Michael Allen, Wildlife Trusts
Maria Arce, Practical Action, and British Overseas NGOs for Development (BOND)
Liz Atkins, National Council for Voluntary Organisations (NCVO)
Lola Barret, Grenfell Housing Association, and National Association for Voluntary and Community Action (NAVCA)
Sylvia Brown, Action with Communities in Rural England (ACRE) and the Community Sector Coalition (CSC)
Jo Butcher, National Children’s Bureau
Tom Flood, British Trust for Conservation Volunteers (BTCV) and the Association for Chief Executives of Voluntary organisations (ACEVO)
Stephen Hale, Green Alliance
Ben Hughes, British Association of Settlements and Social Action Centres (Bassac) and the Community Sector Coalition (CSC)
Ian Jones, Volunteer Cornwall
Nigel Lowthrop, Hill Holt Wood and the Social Enterprise Coalition (SEC)
Fay Mansell, National Federation of Women’s Institutes
David Shreeve, Church of England and the Conservation Foundation
Roger Smith, British Red Cross
Clare Thomas, City Bridge Trust

current magazine cover
 Picture News Gallery
 E Newsalert 
 Charity services
 Past issues
 Site map
navigation jobs
navigation UK Charity Awards
navigation Charity Buyers Guide

The Pensions Trust